Creative, PR, Marketing & Advertising, Creatives & Freelancers

Creative Shootout Finalists Announced

By on


Nine agencies have made it through to the Live Final of The 2018 Creative Shootout, to be held at BAFTA on Thursday 25th January 2018. The nine agencies, which were selected by a very high profile Judging Panel from across the industry, are (alphabetical order);

Bottle PR agency

Clarion Comms Full-service PR and social media agency

Frank PR agency

Ignis Brand experience agency

Mischief PR agency

Pretty Green Entertainment, sport and lifestyle agency

Shape History Social change company

Talker Tailor Troublemaker Creative communications agency

Text 100 Global marketing communications agency

This year the winning agency will receive a £250,000 media prize fund from premium publisher cooperative 1XL, to help stage their campaign, as well as £30,000 in fees from Charity of the Year, FareShare.

1XL is one of the UK’s leading digital advertising partnerships, representing 800 local news brands and commanding a comScore monthly unique audience of 23 million people across the UK.

Entry to the Creative Shootout was open to any marketing agency in the UK and is supported by the major associations including The IPA, CIPR, CMA and IAB UK. To enter, agencies needed to give the Judges just ‘60 seconds’ on why they had the creative clout for FareShare.

At the live Final, Finalists receive the real brief from FareShare at lunchtime, have four hours to work their creative magic in the afternoon, before pitching their ideas back in 10 minutes each to the Judges and live audience at BAFTA, who have a vote. In the evening a 1st, 2nd and 3rd will be crowned at an after party – with the winning team walking off with the trophy, £30,000 in agency fees and the £250,000 media prize fund from 1XL.

“We’ve a cracking nine agencies in the Final this year. Choosing nine from the long list was tough, and the final decision was very, very close – namely because there were so many strong entries from a really diverse range of agencies. ” Creative Shootout Founder, Johnny Pitt

The 2018 Judging Panel (alphabetical order) includes:

Abba Newbery Creator Development YouTube

Alyson Walsh Marketing Director FareShare

Andrew Bloch Founder & Group MD Frank

Colin Byrne CEO UK & EMEA Weber Shandwick

David Gallagher President, Growth & Development Omnicom

Emma De La Fosse CCO O&M

Henry Faure Walker CEO Newsquest

James Booth Founder & CEO Scoota

Jason Gardiner TV Personality, Founder & Creative Director The Rabbit Hole Group

Professor Jonathan Shalit OBE Chairman ROAR Group (UK)

Johnny Pitt Founder The Creative Shootout

Luke D’Arcy President Momentum

Paul Bainsfair Director General IPA

Rosie Nixon Editor-in-Chief Hello!

Simon Gill Chief Creative Officer Isobar

Simon Peck Group Managing Director Engine UK

Sophie Daranyi Chairman Haygarth

Scott Wimsett, Partner at Bespoke Film, and broadcaster, also led an Advisory Council of over 40 well known industry names, to help develop this year’s format. He’ll also be presenting the Live Final.


FareShare is the UK’s largest food re-distribution charity that is responsible for feeding half a million people a week, by re-distributing good, surplus food to over 6,700 frontline charities and community groups.

“For us, creativity is a major driver in our organisation. It’s critical we’re creative in our thinking to help drive awareness and engagement of FareShare. We’ve got a very specific brief for The Creative Shootout this year and we hope the winning creative is a game changing moment for food poverty in the UK.” Lindsay Boswell, CEO of FareShare:

“1XL will serve to communicate the winning creative and message to every corner of the UK through 800 trusted local news brands and a digital audience of over 23 million people a month. The Creative Shootout is unique with its real-time focus and our £250,000 media spend will hopefully make a meaningful difference to the issue of food poverty in the UK.” Henry Faure Walker, CEO of Newsquest, a founding partner in 1XL.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *